Appealing gifts for the gamer in your life
Warner Bros. Games
December 1st, 2011
07:25 PM ET

Appealing gifts for the gamer in your life

The important thing to keep in mind about gamers when you’re attempting to buy them holiday presents is this: They have freakish abilities. They can concentrate on one thing for hours on end. They have especially good hand-eye coordination. They can immerse themselves in the rules of improbable universes and can master environments quickly. Buying presents for a gamer is sort of like buying a present for some kind of government special agent.

But don’t worry. The Geek Out! team has reduced the gaming landscape to some essential qualities, so shoppers can target their prize as easily as a first-person-shooter champion. FULL POST

The store where cute addicts go to die: Japan LA
November 29th, 2011
05:12 PM ET

The store where cute addicts go to die: Japan LA

I only lived in Los Angeles for a few years, but as anyone who lives there can tell you, it has something for everyone.

The glitzy scenery of Hollywood, the movie studios of Burbank and the shopping paradise of Melrose were just a few of the places that I liked to walk at night, watching passersby and hoping to discover hidden secrets.

When it came to the holidays, shopping in L.A. was always fun but overwhelming. So many things to choose from! So many malls! So many options! It was on one of these late November days that I rushed down to Munky King, the premier designer vinyl collectible store on Melrose, in hopes of scoring a limited item for a friend.

Unfortunately, I missed out on what was a very limited supply, and so I wandered down the street back in the direction of my car trying not to let my feet drag with disappointment. And, lucky for me, instead of staying on Melrose, I decided to turn down a side street and take a shortcut.

Seeing Japan LA for the first time was the kind of thing that makes a Japanese culture addict stop in her tracks. Or at least, I stopped in mine. Cold. FULL POST

When buying gifts for a comic book fan ...
November 25th, 2011
11:00 AM ET

When buying gifts for a comic book fan ...

With literally hundreds of titles at your average comic book store, it can be a daunting task to search for holiday gifts for the comic book fan in your life. Lucky for you, CNN's Geek Out team is here to help!

While it's no surprise that a great gift for a comic book fan is a comic book, graphic novels are a gift worth the higher price tag. They consist of longer stories than the average comic book, are often (but not always) in hardcover and are sometimes a collection of  multiple issues of previously-released comics.

This year, one particularly holiday-oriented graphic novel is "Batman: Noel," a brand-new story inspired by Charles Dickens' immortal classic "A Christmas Carol." "Batman: Noel" features a different interpretation of the Dark Knight from writer/artist Lee Bermejo.

This Batman-exploring-what-it-means-to-be-a-hero story is Bermejo's first go as the writer and artist, so it's a much-anticipated book for fans of Batman and DC Comics. [Note: DC Comics is a Time Warner company, as is CNN.]

So, if you purchase it for the Batman fan in your life, make sure to tell them that you heard it was from the same artist who worked on "Joker" in 2008. That is certain to give you a few bonus points. FULL POST

This is how to buy a gift for an otaku
November 25th, 2011
09:37 AM ET

This is how to buy a gift for an otaku

So, the holidays are rolling around yet again, and you have an otaku in the family.

We can understand that you might feel a bit panicky about what to get them when it comes to the holidays. It's because you have no idea whose face is on those posters and the whole anime thing just seems like a universe unto itself.

How on earth do you delve into that? Or figure out what they like best? And even worse, what if you end up buying them something you think is cool, but they turn up their noses at?

It's hard to go wrong with a gift like a USB drive, especially since there are so many cool ones for fans of Japanese culture. For instance, the Voltron 2 GB USB drive is part pose-able toy and part storage monster, ready to transport your files with attitude. Plus, he comes with a blazing sword, which has no other function beyond making you look that much cooler. Voltron Force, go!
FULL POST

The Force is with Black Friday
Photo credit: Dark Horse Comics
November 24th, 2011
12:00 PM ET

The Force is with Black Friday

For 20 years, Dark Horse Comics has been publishing the "Star Wars" series of comic books, introducing new stories and characters to the mythos of the galaxy far, far away.

This Black Friday, the company has a very special offer, so that fans unfamiliar with the comics can catch up on what they've been missing.

For 24 hours only, 134 issues, in digital form, will be offered for $100.

Between "Shadows of the Empire," "Star Wars: The Old Republic" and "Mara Jade: By the Emperor's Hand," there are a lot of classic comics to choose from.

For other gift ideas for the geeks in your life, check out our fandom gift guide, and come back tomorrow for more.


Filed under: Comic Longbox • Holiday Shopping • Squee!
« older posts
newer posts »