When buying gifts for a comic book fan ...
November 25th, 2011
11:00 AM ET

When buying gifts for a comic book fan ...

With literally hundreds of titles at your average comic book store, it can be a daunting task to search for holiday gifts for the comic book fan in your life. Lucky for you, CNN's Geek Out team is here to help!

While it's no surprise that a great gift for a comic book fan is a comic book, graphic novels are a gift worth the higher price tag. They consist of longer stories than the average comic book, are often (but not always) in hardcover and are sometimes a collection of  multiple issues of previously-released comics.

This year, one particularly holiday-oriented graphic novel is "Batman: Noel," a brand-new story inspired by Charles Dickens' immortal classic "A Christmas Carol." "Batman: Noel" features a different interpretation of the Dark Knight from writer/artist Lee Bermejo.

This Batman-exploring-what-it-means-to-be-a-hero story is Bermejo's first go as the writer and artist, so it's a much-anticipated book for fans of Batman and DC Comics. [Note: DC Comics is a Time Warner company, as is CNN.]

So, if you purchase it for the Batman fan in your life, make sure to tell them that you heard it was from the same artist who worked on "Joker" in 2008. That is certain to give you a few bonus points.

If your comic book fan prefers the undead to superheroes, then "Marvel Zombies Christmas Carol," another four-color take on the Charlies Dickens classic, may be just the ticket. The last couple of years have seen a plethora of zombie-related content on comic book shelves, and Marvel has its own zombie sub-genre.

Vampires are still plenty popular, and the first two volumes collecting the critically-acclaimed "American Vampire," from DC's mature audiences imprint Vertigo, is a good pick for those who want something with (how could we not make this pun?) a little more bite. Your friend or family member will be interested to know that this is by the current "Batman" writer.

For comic book fans who enjoyed this year's crop of superhero films like "Thor," collections such as "The Mighty Thor Vol. 1 Omnibus" offer a great look at where these story lines all began.

There's also the quite affordable "Green Lantern Chronicles: Vol. 1" (which shows how closely the movie adhered to the earliest 1959 Silver Age stories of GL), the hard-to-find (but worth it) "Marvel Masterworks: Golden Age Captain America Vol. 1," and 2007's inexpensive collection of the first eight issues of "X-Men: First Class."

"Art of Marvel Studios" offers beautiful images and details on the making of the "Iron Man," "Thor" and "Captain America" films, stuff that comic book movie fans drool over.

Then there's another take on the superhero movie, the recent phenomenon of "motion comics," sort of like visual books on tape. The genre is represented well in the new "Marvel Knights Animation Collection," which includes such recent classics as Joss Whedon's first "Astonishing X-Men" story arc, and "Iron Man: Extremis" (which influenced the recent movies – something else you can mention to your gift recipient). It's a great way for readers to catch up.

Wonder Woman's sock drawer must be full of these flashy, star-spangled knee-high socks, complete with a cape.

For other female readers looking to make a fashion statement, there's nothing subtle about nOir Jewelry's DC Collection. The Batgirl Dome double finger ring is one of its boldest pieces. Plated in gunmetal with cubic zirconia details, this thing is practically big enough to qualify as a batarang. Deadly weapon or stunning accessory? Either way, the female Bat-fan will wear it proudly.

Another way comic book fans can give a shout-out to their favorite characters is in their ears. The Marvel and DC comics-themed earbuds from iHip definitely fit the bill there.

If comic book collectors are anything, they are "completists" - they need a full set. The same applies to comic-based action figures, and the "Justice League Unlimited" 7-pack, completes the full JLU team.

Also tremendously popular among many comic book fans are painstakingly crafted sculptures of favorite characters. One of the latest examples of this is DC Direct's Harley Quinn statue, based on the character (who first appeared in "Batman: The Animated Series") as she is seen in the popular DC Universe Online game.

As for indie comics, fans of Joss Whedon's Dark Horse work might go for the back-by-popular-demand "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" Supernatural Defense Kit."

Like "Buffy," "Hellboy" remains a popular Dark Horse Comics character, and the self-contained graphic novel "House of the Living Dead" is another good choice for fans with an independent sensibility. Something worth mentioning here to your friend or family member: The art is by "Hellboy" creator Mike Mignola, and it's the first original "Hellboy" graphic novel.

You can't begin to talk about indie comics without mentioning "The Walking Dead," and if you know someone who has followed the comics before AMC adapted it to the small screen, they will want Image's deluxe slipcased edition of "The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor." If you purchase this novel (not a graphic novel, by the way), you can point out that it is a prequel that explores one of the most notorious characters from Robert Kirkman's popular series.

Indeed, "The Walking Dead" is a bona fide phenomenon and it may be difficult for even the most hardcore fan to keep up with the various titles out there, making it a great choice for a digital comics gift ("The Walking Dead" has its own app, with the first issue free).

There are countless apps out there for other comic book companies and titles, however, the digital app to end all apps is Comixology! They power both the official DC and Marvel apps and include most other publishers as well. If you only want one comic app on your digital devices this is the one to get.

soundoff (25 Responses)
  1. Latest Mini PC

    This is very fascinating, You are an excessively professional blogger. I've joined your feed and sit up for searching for more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks

    May 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm |
  2. homemade gift boxes

    You really make it appear really easy together with your presentation however I find this topic to be actually one thing which I believe I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I'm having a look forward for your next put up, I will try to get the hang of it!

    April 10, 2012 at 11:40 am |
  3. plus de facebook fan

    Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly loved surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I'm hoping you write once more soon!

    April 1, 2012 at 6:16 pm |
  4. facebook fans

    Terrific work! That is the type of info that are supposed to be shared across the net. Shame on Google for now not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my web site . Thank you =)

    March 31, 2012 at 5:17 pm |
  5. Pharmd665

    Very nice site!

    January 17, 2012 at 12:58 pm |
    • Jose

      I was never a fan of ElfQuest, but this trailer looks fatnastic. So is there an actual film or will they just show the trailer at the premiere party? I was a bit confused, because I thought the major 'cast' of ElfQuest were male Elves, but I don't wanna complain ^^

      September 12, 2012 at 7:17 pm |
  6. Pharme194

    Hello! gfggdkk interesting gfggdkk site! I'm really like it! Very, very gfggdkk good!

    January 17, 2012 at 12:58 pm |
  7. The Question

    Just by them comic books...

    December 16, 2011 at 8:25 pm |
    • Pharme571

      Hello! daeddka interesting daeddka site! I'm really like it! Very, very daeddka good!

      January 17, 2012 at 7:28 am |
    • Pharmg919

      Hello! gdabkbe interesting gdabkbe site! I'm really like it! Very, very gdabkbe good!

      January 17, 2012 at 7:29 am |
  8. Murray

    The Marvel Zombies Christmas Carol looks awesome. Looking forward to my xmas break reading list, between that one and these DC holiday comics: http://www.popfunk.com/blog/view/holiday-comics/

    December 12, 2011 at 2:57 pm |
  9. Hunter Dobson

    Hey folks, Could be the U.S. a lot far better off sticking with Syria's Assad?

    December 7, 2011 at 9:03 pm |
  10. Lola

    This site has the cutest gift for the superhero fan in your life . . . She will make your letters to whatever character you want! Big hit!

    December 5, 2011 at 11:49 pm |
    • ComicMom

      Thanks for the tip! I got my son's name in Green Lantern letters. Very cool. It's at http://www.spottedflats.etsy.com

      December 11, 2011 at 5:16 pm |
  11. noah staninger

    i wouldnt want any new comics or action figures except for the blackest night books

    December 4, 2011 at 2:53 am |
  12. weakkneeswill

    whoa there are some cool gifts here. i want 'em all. here is another blog post i found with some of the best gifts for geeks http://www.popfunk.com/blog/view/the-best-gifts-for-geeks/

    December 2, 2011 at 4:33 pm |
  13. Robin

    Hellboy's 'House of the Living Dead' has art by the legendary Richard Corben – Mignola wrote the story. You lose bonus points Erika.

    December 2, 2011 at 4:14 pm |
    • Amner

      Will Eisner would say if he would be alive in unlike you that soeonme who wants to make a graphic novel should do it in the best case both story and design on himself.

      September 15, 2012 at 1:24 am |
  14. comics for all

    I would disagree with gremlinus. If you are shopping for a comic book reader, whether you know what they want or not, unless they are related to scrooge and miss the point of x-mas, they would be touched and quite happy to know you took into account their geek interests when buying a gift.

    November 28, 2011 at 8:10 am |
  15. tapestryguy

    Very nice, Thank you
    Beatles towels

    November 28, 2011 at 1:22 am |
  16. gremlinus

    If you are shopping for a comic book reader, unless they ask for it specifically or it's something ultrarare, just skip it. Unless you yourself are a comic book reader. It's like knitting your boyfriend/girlfriend a sweater if they aren't a knitter, just a bad idea even though your heart was in the right place.

    November 27, 2011 at 8:23 pm |
    • Shiewha

      Whats up AIMEE, didne2€™t see your comment there we just rieesdgned the site and we are still working out out some kinks.Yes I definitely think Seth has a loose connection with Dr. Manhattan. Now that you mention it, Ice Man does kinda look similar! Triplets!! Btw is Emma Frost your site? Its pretty cool!Yea Watchmen is definitely not for the general public. I still have mixed opinions about the moviee2€a6but overall I definitely think it was a bold statement and really followed the comics.btw I thought the Comedian really looked like Robert Downy Jr!Seriously though, I did a double take when they flashed his slong on the big screen! Didne2€™t think they had the e2€œballse2€9d to do it. =D

      September 15, 2012 at 12:32 am |